I am not a composer of music, I am an inventor of music

stravinsky_mugshot_resize.jpg

Who better to round out this list of eccentrics than Igor Stravinsky, the “gangsta” of classical music. OK, that’s a bit of a joke, but his music certainly is no joke. Here he was arrested for “tampering with public property.” His crime? Rearranging the U.S. national anthem and performing it in Boston. God bless America and freedom of speech, yes?

 Believe it or not, I don’t think I ever heard his music until I was 18 years old (my parents were into the top forty of classical). I was driving home late at night and as I was flipping the dial I heard two pianos being vigorously played…well, it sounded like they were being destroyed, really. Then I began to hear intricate patterns forming in the noise, and soon its brilliance became clear. 

That masterpiece was “Rites of Spring,” and I had the good fortune of hearing it for the first time performed on two pianos. So I sat in the car, waited for the dj to tell me who it was, wrote down the info, and ordered the CD the next day. It took over two months for it to arrive, but it was worth the wait. Since then, it has become like a close friend to me, which is a big reason why I chose it to close out my list. 

Below is a short clip of one of the movements of “Rites of Spring,” played as it was written, for a full orchestra. Hope you enjoy it.

9 Responses to “I am not a composer of music, I am an inventor of music”

  1. David Lewis Says:

    Dear Friend,

    Please may I have permission to use this photo of Stravinsky. It’s for a demonstration at the school I teach at to get students interested in learning orchestral instruments. I am being paid for the demonstration but think that it’s not as a direct result of using the photos – I am performing/talking myself and the photos are there to enhance my message.

    With thanks and best wishes,

    David Lewis

  2. David Lewis Says:

    Dear Friend,
    I am e-mailing further to my e-mail on 4th June. Since I have not received a response I will assume that it’s acceptable for me to use the image of Stravinsky from your website.
    With thanks and best wishes,
    David Lewis

  3. TJ Says:

    Just so you know, the title is “Rite of Spring”… it isn’t pluralized.

    Im supposing there is only one 🙂

  4. Barber Says:

    And to split that hair now into quarters… it’s “THE Rite of Spring” 😉

  5. Nicholas Says:

    Lol. A Stravinsky fan getting his most famous work’s name wrong.

  6. Zach Says:

    If you want to get stupidly technical, the correct title of this piece is “Le sacre du printemps” . . .

  7. JL Says:

    figaro!! lol holt etc 14th june 2011

  8. Dr. Fuse Says:

    To be REALLY anal, the title is “Le Sacre du Printemps; Tableaux de Russe Pagane”, or “The Rite of Spring; Pictures of Pagan Russia” in Two Tableaux. Or something like that.

  9. Travis Says:

    Admin do you want unlimited content for your wp blog?

    Type in google:
    Nysrisar’s tool

Leave a Reply

